Sweet Sighs, Stretches and Gentle Night-Peeps

In the wee hours of the morning I watched you sleeping;

relaxed, contented, softly dreaming.

I wondered what thoughts your beautiful head was keeping.

.

I saw you stretch, reach and search for my arm.

You wondered if I was there to keep you safe and warm.

Fear not, my love, I’ll keep you safe from harm.

.

I feel our days softly waning, soon you’ll sleep with me no more.

I’ll miss your sweet, soft cuddles – and yes, even your snore.

These words I’ll read in my diary one day and they will read like lore.

.

But right now, Sweetheart, we’ll cuddle and sleep.

I’ll enjoy your sweet sighs, stretches and gentle night-peeps,

forever grateful you’ve shown me love this deep.

About McApril

Wife, mother, administrator.

Posted on April 15, 2011, in Family, Parenting, Poetry, T. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

