Seven Years

Today I celebrate seven years of marriage with my husband Josh. We’re just shy of having been together for eight years.

Josh and I had known each other a few years before we started dating. I met him through a friend of a friend and as the years went by I knew that I always had a great time when we got together with friends over games (or political discussion).

During late 2001 and early 2002 I started thinking more and more about him and couldn’t understand why I couldn’t get him off my mind. I talked often with our mutual friend, Georgia, about what was going on in my head and my heart. She was an angel to do about fifteen billion tarot card readings for me (each always asked the same question). The cards told us that we’d be good together – but we would have to fight many battles along the way.

On my birthday in 2002 I asked Josh to go out and play pool with me. At the end of the night we went back to his place and ended up like usual – playing card games and laughing with our friends Adam and Shannon. Adam and Shannon left as we reached the wee hours of the morning. When they had gone I asked Josh if he thought we could have a relationship together without sacrificing our friendship. He agreed that we could.

Josh and I had a little bit of a trying time between then and the time he moved out of one friend’s house, into an apartment of his own, and then into my apartment with me. I graduated with my BS degree that December. I took him with me to Mobile to meet my extended family, and then to Bilouxi on my graduation trip. He loved getting the chance to meet my family and said after the trip that he loved me more for it.

Within just a couple of short months, Josh and I decided on Valentine’s Day to tie the knot. It was a Friday night. The courthouse wouldn’t be open for another few days due to President’s Day. The following Tuesday, as soon as the courthouse was open, Josh and I went to the courthouse with a handful of friends to get married. Georgia and Adam paid the wedding license dues as our wedding present.

It was there that my heart burst when the judge asked, “Do you take this woman, April, to be your lawfully wedded wife?” and his response was “Absolutely!”

Wedding Day

February 17, 2004

The tarot cards were right. Josh and I have had many battles throughout our marriage, but we’ve come out stronger as a result of each. Here we are today with an amazing daughter. I’m sure we still have many trials and tribulations to come, but we’re committed to sticking together through it all.

Happy Seventh Anniversary, Josh. I love you.

About McApril

Wife, mother, administrator.

Posted on February 17, 2011, in Birthday, Family, J, Parenting, Rambling, T. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I am so happy for you two. Not only that our friends have been blessed with seven years of togeatherness and love, but also the fact that there are people still out there that know what marriage is about. They know that its work and commitment. In the good time but especially in the bad. That just because times get hard they dont run away they cling to each other. Its marriages like this that renew my belief in a world that gives up on that commitment at the drop of a hat. I make this wish for you two that there will be many more good years than bad, That the bad ones go by super fast. Enjoy the day and enjoy each other.

    • Thanks Jill! I’ll tell you, the rocky times were hard – and I won’t lie, sometimes I wanted to run. But I didn’t – neither did he – and here we are today! It feels great!

Leave a Reply

